bear pepper spray?

Talk anything related to Mule Deer
Sponsored by: http://www.muledeermania.com
tejashunter
Fawn
Fawn

bear pepper spray?

Post by tejashunter » Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:01 pm

have not had time to post much... to busy trying to do research for the Wyoming mule deer hunt! knowing that within 60 days I will be working at figuring it out in the field instead of doing "homework" has me very anxious.
I have acquired all goods (survival, med kit, hunting equipment) that are recommended by the majority of hunters but one item that has come up just a few times is bear pepper spray. Obviously being the novice I am I figured it would be wise to open the discussion to those who have hunted and continue to hunt areas in the south east quadrant of Wyoming. I have no experience with pepper spray, regular nor bear, but I am curious if it is necessary or effective. The other concern/question is that I have been told winds are strong and steady across the state and I sure dont want it coming back in my face. After all if it can actually knock down a bear I could only imagine what a little bit in a humans eyes would do.

Tejas Hunter.

Loafer
3 point
3 point

Re: bear pepper spray?

Post by Loafer » Wed Aug 19, 2009 8:52 am

I thought the differance between bear and regular pepper spray was quantity of spray and not percentage of oc in the spray, it will have the oc percentage on the label. I can tell you that it is a horrible experience to be sprayed with pepper spray. It not only blinds you its makes your face, mouth and throat burn and makes it difficult to breathe. Also, if you are in the general area of the pepper spray being used you can be affected by the over spray so watch what the wind is doing, you don't piss in the wind i highly reccommend the same with pepper spray. Maybe check youtube and see if anyone has footage of spraying a bear with pepper spray.
Uva uvam vivendo varia fit - Augustus McCrae

NotEnufTags
Monster
Monster