Which Elk Unit?

Talk Anything related to Elk Hunting
cwp
Spike
Spike

Which Elk Unit?

Post by cwp » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:37 am

I have a question for all of you adimate elk hunters out there. I have been putting in for the Monroe unit for the last 15 years and have not drawn a tag. I really want to hunt elk next year so that I can get onto another hunt. I am curious what unit you would put in for with 15 points in Utah. There are definitely other units that hold a lot of good bulls, but I have connections in Monroe. Let me know what you think.

kinzysdad
3 point
3 point

Re: Which Elk Unit?

Post by kinzysdad » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:47 am

Book Cliffs without a doubt :thumb
when the crow dips, you have luck sometimes maybe.

6x6 bull
3 point
3 point

Post by 6x6 bull » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:53 am

The draw odds say that a nonresident with 13 points should have 100% chance of drawing the any weapon hunt on the Monroe. I don't know why you weren't drawn with 15 points. I would hang in and try for the unit I wanted with that many points.

cwp
Spike
Spike

Post by cwp » Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:55 pm

I understand the odds for the unit.......It took my dad 27 years to draw the same tag. It was an awesome hunt, he didn't get a huge elk, but they were everywhere. I would love to hunt there but I don't want to wait another 12 years to get the opportunity.

Twitch
Spike
Spike

Post by Twitch » Fri Nov 14, 2008 5:35 pm

Well according the the DWR, you should have no problem drawing out with 15 points. Since everyone did in 08.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/hunting/biggam ... ats/08.pdf

Even with 14 points, its a 24% chance to draw.

But if not, check out the Pahvant Units

MuleyMadness
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by MuleyMadness » Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:17 pm

I agree, with 15 points it should be a guaranteed draw. How many points you have?

oddhntr
Fawn
Fawn

Post by oddhntr » Mon Dec 08, 2008 2:14 pm

Congrats on having 15 points in Utah! :not-worthy