Hot Temps worrying?

Talk anything related to bowhunting
lost dawg
Fawn
Fawn

Hot Temps worrying?

Post by lost dawg » Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:22 pm

All you guys headed to the backcountry:
I would love to hear your strategy on avoiding spoilage... I've hunted hot temps before, but I'm fairly new to hunting miles from vehicle access at the same time. How much time do you have in the shade? Will you quarter or debone it in the field? If you do debone it and hang it in a shady spot, how fast is the clock ticking? What else is part of your strategy?

Anyway, just thought I'd dig for some info- I'd be crushed if I got lucky enough to score and then flailed on the follow thru.

alpinbowman
Spike
Spike

Post by alpinbowman » Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:52 am

Once you :arrow your animal and find it get it to bone out the animal as soon as possible. don't worry about gutting it. there is no need to do that just get the meat in pieces and off of the bone as soon as possible it will keep it cooler and make it lighter for the pack out. I put the meat into game bags and then a plastic bag so my pack doesn't get all bloody. If you can only take part of the animal at a time hang the meat in the shade in only the game bag.
alpinebowman

>>>---shots that are true pass right through--->

killerbee

Post by killerbee » Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:28 pm

different situations change that clock, if were to hit a little far back and open the guts at all you just made that clock tick twice as fast. i had some bulls in new mexico lay over night [ to make sure they were dead and we didn't just jump them out of there beds] in the early archery hunts and it is hot down there and they would be just fine the next morning///// then on the other side of the spectrom one of our guides failed to clean out some remaining gut perticles in the late hunts with 2 ft. of snow and had a bull spoil in few hrs!