2nd Annual Rocky Mountain Goat Self Pity Hike

Talk anything related to the above listed big game.
NotEnufTags
Monster
Monster

2nd Annual Rocky Mountain Goat Self Pity Hike

Post by NotEnufTags » Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:59 am

Hello fellow madness members,

I've been putting in for a Rocky Mountain Goat tag for 10 years now. Last year I took my seven year old with me and hiked up on opening morning of the hunt to get a taste of what the hunt would be like. Last Saturday was this years RMG opener so I hiked it again for my second annual rocky mountain goat self pity hike. I think I will hike it each year now until I draw.

I started the hike with a headlamp on. I miss judged my starting time because I made it six miles and over 3000' elevation gain when I heard the first shot. I still had a half mile to go to make it into the basin that typically houses the goats.

Upon arriving in the basin I could see two hunters with thier harvest. There are four tags a year given out for the area. I hiked over to talk to the first group. By the time I got to them they had boned the animal out and had it ready for a pack out. So no pics for you guys. The hunter took a 9" nanny. The tags are either sex. I would have been dissapointed with the animal but was excited for the hunter. I asked a lot questions to get an Idea of how the hunter chose the nanny. He wasn't too picky. He said it was the biggest in this group.
Rocky Mountain Goats sized.JPG
Rocky Mountain Goats sized.JPG (99.57 KiB) Viewed 7258 times
Ifelt that he didn't spend much time beacuse I saw bigger. He was happy so great on him. I would have held out for a billy. After talking to them for a while I hiked up and took some photos of goats. Here's a few.

This group was more interested in chillin on the snow than being worried about my approach.
Timp Goats Sized.JPG
Timp Goats Sized.JPG (79.94 KiB) Viewed 7258 times
Young Adult Goat sized.JPG
Young Adult Goat sized.JPG (77.25 KiB) Viewed 7258 times