Alright archer's.. neeed lots of advice!

Talk anything related to bowhunting
Muley Shed Freak
3 point
3 point

Alright archer's.. neeed lots of advice!

Post by Muley Shed Freak » Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:17 pm

Its been decided i am going to a compound bow, and putting up the long bow. I have ZERO experience with compounds.
what do you all shoot? Poundage? Letoff? Sights? Release? Spines? Fletching? Weight? Broadheads? Im in Idaho so they have to be fixed, no mechanical. Cams? Hand shock? Length of bow? Arrow rests? Nocks?
basically head to toe, what do you use and why?
my draw lenght is around 28, poundage up to 60 with an 80% let off.
My shoulder just can't take the long bow anymore. I ned to get set up as quickly as possible. Hoping to hunt in September.

jayb22
Spike
Spike

Re: Alright archer's.. neeed lots of advice!

Post by jayb22 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:52 pm

I'm shooting a 2010 Strother SR-71 at 65# and 27.5" DL. I was shooting 460gr piledriver arrows with 100gr slick trick standard broadheads. The bow has a little stiff draw to it but is rated at 353 fps so for a speed bow it isn't bad. It's a very "dead in the hand" bow at the shot with basically no vibration or kick. It is also very quiet. I'm actualy selling it once my new K&K Vengeance arrives. It is designed by the same guy that designed the early bowtech, elite and Strother bows. The bow will be very similar as mine to shoot but has a fair bit smoother draw, extra inch of brace right to help with forgiveness and I'm only sacrificing 6-7 fps with it. With the faster bows I'm now using gold tip velocity hunter 300 arrows with a 20gr brass insert in te end to help with FOC for penetration. If you have any questions just ask.

Jackson10
Spike
Spike

Post by Jackson10 » Tue Mar 29, 2011 1:15 pm

what do you all shoot? Poundage? Letoff? Sights? Release? Spines? Fletching? Weight? Broadheads? Im in Idaho so they have to be fixed, no mechanical. Cams? Hand shock? Length of bow? Arrow rests? Nocks?